AKS + Gitlab CI — A Short Guide to Integration

How to create an AKS cluster using Azure CLI and integrate it on Gitlab CI

Marcos Henrique da Silva
7 min readJun 16, 2020
Increase your devops skills!

Hello all, for who is first arriving on my medium articles, I am sometimes writing some hands on tutorials on software development field. I also have a full Express tutorial which can be found here.

In this article, I am trying to resume an initial approach to create a Kubernetes cluster in Azure with azure cli, then integrating it into Gitlab CI.

I am expecting a minimum knowledge about what is Kubernetes and basic usages, as well as a basic understanding on Azure services, Docker and Gitlab, then we can avoid a lot of content and go straight to the point: how to configure it fast.

For this project I will also be simulating an ExpressJS project but since I currently cannot maintain the Kubernetes on at azure, I won’t be adding a project neither a link that works for the public readers. Hope you guys can understand it.

Hands on!

Make sure that you have your azure account working and with at least one resource group that you can use, then download and install the azure cli on your operational system. The link is here.

If you are lost on resource group, please add one following their…

--

--